#museumlearning #NDF23 #TBT

It’s Thursday! That means time for a #TBT post. I haven’t done one of these for ages but was inspired after the excellent NDF workshop yesterday, Designing for Playful Engagement, facilitated by Ed Rodley.

It was terrific re-visiting and re-thinking (for me) about learning and educational theory in museums and how this underpins designing experiences for our visitors. Something I examined in-depth in my doctoral thesis.

I recorded my key reflections via a set of Post-it notes (below) and have also referenced some blog posts in this area that are relevant to Ed’s presentation. Just a few as there has been so much written about museum learning. Chapter two and chapter seven of my thesis summarise this literature in detail and can be downloaded from the link below.

And, let’s face it, the theories don’t change very much and, as John Falk once said, visitors’ wiring has also pretty much stayed the same too, just the communication and interpretive mediums are different (for the most part…).

Oh, and you won’t get the Otto reference but suffice to say, by the end of yesterday we were all ‘soaking’ in this conference!

REFERENCES:

Leave a comment