#NDF23 Day Two: #AI

Those that know me well know that I just love playing around with new tech – experimenting, learning, enjoying! AI in particular.

So, this talk really got me excited and I’ve chosen to use a foto gallery of Colby’s slides + some text below.

A case example: Be my AI

Helps connect blind people with volunteers that will help them with everyday tasks. Awesome!

[Potential] Use of AI in cultural institutions:

  • Digitisation of collections
    • Fragile objects
    • Metadata
    • First draft of descriptions
    • Build connections between objects
  • Experience and wayfinding
  • Gamification
  • Personalisation and co-creation
  • AI generated art (some issues here re copyright protections but are being looked at)

Copilots

Coming to a Microsoft tool you use soon!

Challenge

‘We need to get across this technology, including the risks and opportunities’.

And, I should add this link to the Smithsonian’s AI Values Statement (thanks to Indigo Holcombe-James for the intel).

[There were a lot of very thoughtful questions that we didn’t get to unfortunately… Some below]

Leave a comment